IMG_2228 (3).jpg Spirit of Autumn Melissa

A re-post. And a little early in the season as the oak leaves here are still firmly attached to their trees and rustling their dry leafy music in today’s winds. But we’ve not had much rain and trees are coloring up early, and other varieties have let go of their “clothes” leaving them on the floors of my deck and walkways The “Oak Maiden” is the guardian of the doorway to the next season…..

Usually at this time of the year, I am overwhelmed with the carpet of oak leaves that completely blankets my “yarden” since my little cottage is situated underneath a the overhanging canopy of a forest of oak. I must admit, because the weather and my daily schedule do not always co-operate, I am probably the only one in my neighborhood who does not rake and bag and neaten things up. I admit, I submit to the wildness outside while I give reign to the  imaginative wildness within that flows through me into my writing, photography or cooking.

They are EVERYWHERE, these leaves,  and they crackle and crinkle under boots as I come in and out, they come into my living room stuck to the shoes of my piano students upon entry, the blow in fierce winds and stick to the screen glass door as if to say hi.

I have come to think of the oak that surrounds me as a sign of the part of me that is magical while living in a mundane world, knowing the history of this tree in the worlds of the Druids, the old herbalists and other magical folk. I come to realize that often, the places, the happenings, the land, the home and surroundings that are unique to our own particular individual life are a hint of our own inner life and thoughts, in manifested form. If this be so, that I might be a woman of the wild, sheltered by a magical forest full of power and mystery which I love and respect.

And there IS mystery here as I gaze out into the woods from my writer’s alcove here. Throughout the year, and in yarden and woods, faces in nature reveal themselves to me, in the trees, the rocks, the sky, the flowers, the reflections in water. So it is no surprise to see the emerging mirage of the Oak Maiden appear through the dream of leaves and autumn’s powerful transformation from green to brown.

She is lovely, this mysterious Deva..quiet and calm, as she prepares us in the northern hemisphere to, like Persephone, enter the dark and stillness of winter for rest, reflection, recycling, and renewal. She is a reminder that this season is not meant to be a secular one, running here and there to shop and consume, but rather to pull back and let GO of what no longer serves us, to dive deeply to the underground of Soul to dream, journal, process, renew and quietly plan for what could be new in time.

From Christine, The Greening Spirit

 

****************************************************************************

Note: The Oak Maiden is my daughter Melissa.                                                                                           Note: Photograph by Canadian Artist David Hickey @ http://www.davidhickeyartist.com/

Note: Be sure to check the Greening Spirit’s recipes on my foodie  blog: http://sensuoussoupsandsuppers.wordpress.com

Note: The Greening Spirit loves to cook and EAT! Check out my latest recipe on Sensuous Soups and Suppers: http://sensuoussoupsandsuppers.wordpress.com/2013/12/08/simply-sensuous-spicy-indian-stew-cold-weather-heat/

